Skip to content

I Am Not Ashamed!

July 10, 2012

It took me two and a half years to finally find a job working an average of 35 hours a week. With a sluggish economy, managing media plans for print advertising clients and keeping the books for small marketing firms is just not what it used to be.

With a high unemployment rate, I now find myself competing with younger people who have accounting degrees and are willing to work for less as bookkeepers. Through the years, I have also seen companies bring their advertising in-house affecting jobs like mine. And, let’s not forget nepotism.

That is where is college comes in. And for me, staying in college means staying in New York City where survival of the fittest is highly prevalent. It is a no-brainer. If I can’t pay my rent, I can’t stay in school. My first two years of college would have been a waste. I almost had to drop out and then I would have jumped.

The kicker? It is a labor intensive service job for shit money. My Mother was a housekeeper in Miami Beach, and I highly respect and value hard work for chump change. She worked very hard, and was always proud to make an honest living. I joke with her now because I am earning less than she did twenty years ago. This job will continue to humble me. Thank you MOM for being such a wonderful role model. You will always be my inspiration.

Please excuse me. Dignity and Pride are knocking on my door. They are going to help me register for the fall and keep me company throughout my junior year.

From → Risky Biz

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

