Skip to content

Queen Quinn

July 1, 2013
Quinn supporters marching.

Quinn supporters marching.

The support surrounding openly gay, New York City mayor hopeful Christine Quinn was unprecedented at this year’s gay pride parade.  I came across her campaign supporters congregating on West 39th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues when originally meeting a friend who was marching with another organization.  My friend never showed.

While some news reports blame Quinn for the closing of St. Vincent’s Hospital in the West Village, others focus on the fact that the hospital was $1 billion in debt and had filed for bankruptcy.  Additionally, the hospital kept losing millions of dollars every month it stayed open.  If we had universal health care, this may not even be an issue.

Christine Quinn and I posing for a quick pic.

Christine Quinn and I posing for a quick pic.

I decided to march with Quinn’s group because she is openly gay and, as Mayor of New York City, she will address issues that directly affect me.  I respect her for that.  Let me be clear:  I do not support the closing of St. Vincent’s Hospital, but that was coming down the pike, no matter who was in office.

There are my two cents.  And yes, I support Quinn.

Rainbow Pride Flag.

Rainbow Pride Flag.

From → New Media

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

