Skip to content

Give It Up: KIM’s VIDEO closing soon

July 23, 2014
Kim's Video

Kim’s Video on 1st Avenue

When I moved into the East Village in 1996, Kim’s Video was located on Avenue A. Soon afterwards, they moved to First Avenue where they have been ever since. Along with Tower Records, this video store always served as a refuge for me whether I was killing time or wanted to flirt with someone in my favorite section.

Record stores always cheered me up. There is something missing to me from buying music online versus being able to walk into a record store and browse before making a purchase. When Tower Records and the Virgin Megastore first closed, I really felt the impact. And now, Kim’s Video is following suit. Sad, but true.

Peanuts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

